Newbie help-- simple, remotely accessible system
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

robbok
Starting Member

1 Posts

Posted - 08/16/2012 :  9:25:09 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm looking to set up a "simple" wireless system for securing my home office and a small storage room adjacent to the office. This isn't for a whole-home security system, nor do I require any cameras. Just two door sensors, one glassbreak sensor, and a water sensor.

I'm new to home security systems, so of course I just assumed I could buy a DIY system with Internet accessibility and have it all working wirelessly. A few hours on the Internet, however, and I see it's going to be neither cheap, nor simple. I don't want to sign up for any monthly monitoring systems, nor do I want to pay for GSM service. I want simple, WiFi access to/from my system, with alerting to e-mail. I want to be able to connect to the system directly from anywhere in the world, via browser, and check/set status.

Earlier today, this didn't seem like a lot to ask for. Now I'm baffled by the array of options, add-in modules (with crazy-high prices), and hidden monitoring service monthly fees.

Has anyone out there found a simple (yet robust), Internet-available device that works with mobile browers and that sends alerts to devices?

Any help would be much appreciated!

--Rob

stusviews

USA
11445 Posts

Posted - 08/16/2012 :  11:14:12 PM  Show Profile  Visit stusviews's Homepage  Reply with Quote
A. Simple, yes. B. Robust, yes. C. Cheap, yes. Choose:

1. in order A first, then B
2. in order B first, then A
3. A & C (order doesn't matter)

Low security needs are all that's needed in many situations, so simple makes sense. Robust often require a not so simple installation without sacrificing ease of use. But security is individual, there's no one best system for every need.

So, 1, 2, 3, or ?

Stu's Views is Education and Fun. What do YOU want to VIEW today?