Talk About the Latest in Home Automation/Home Electronics
Home Automation Forum

Smarthome Forum
Login or Register
 
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Search | FAQ | Smarthome
 All Forums
 General Discussion
 INSTEON
 2412N & MobiLinc Pro not working
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

bearcat245
New Member

USA
22 Posts

Posted - 10/01/2012 :  06:25:44 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I just upgraded to a iPhone5. I used a iPhone4 or my PC with no issues.
Now I can't access or ping the 2412N controller module.
Tried reset on the module, changing IP address, and unlink the lighting modules etc to no affect.I just get a searching Icon in browser using IP or "I'm Home" button from "http://smartlinc.smarthome.com"
Any ideas are appreciated.

piratacs
Senior Member

Guatemala
225 Posts

Posted - 10/01/2012 :  06:41:57 AM  Show Profile  Visit piratacs's Homepage  Reply with Quote
From the information provided, I dont think its a Mobilinc problem... It sounds like a network problem. You SHOULD be able to ping and browse your Smartlinc. If you are unable to do so, any program will have the same problem.

INTELLiHome iOS App Developer - Floorplan based control for ISY, Insteon Hub & Smartlinc
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/intellihome/id534998430?mt=8
Go to Top of Page

Tfitzpatri8
Administrator

USA
8604 Posts

Posted - 10/01/2012 :  07:29:15 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
For initial setup, make sure you are connecting to the Internet via your home wifi, not via your cell phone's data network or a neighbor's wifi. You have to be connected to your home wifi for the phone to see your SmartLinc when you go to the SmartLinc.smarthome.com site and click 'I'm at home'.

Volunteer Moderator & Home Automation Enthusiast
Go to Top of Page

bearcat245
New Member

USA
22 Posts

Posted - 10/02/2012 :  1:41:22 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Here is more info on my setup. MobiLinc Pro was working for a long time on my iPhone 4 and my desktop browser (IE9 or Firefox). I just upgraded my phone to iPhone5 and it will not find the SmartLinc. Browser does the same.
I have everything on a "Wired" network and only the iPhone communicates through the router's WiFi. The phone works and sync's and has internet access with no issues. There has been no changes with my wiring. All Cat5e. I did try a reset with no joy. Using Windows 7 64bit Professional with a Linksys E3000 router (Getting ready to upgrade soon)
Go to Top of Page

stusviews
Moderator

USA
11466 Posts

Posted - 10/02/2012 :  2:09:00 PM  Show Profile  Visit stusviews's Homepage  Reply with Quote
If you cannot access the SmartLinc from a browser, then it's unlikely that any other interface will be able to access it. So, that's what you need to concentrate on.

Ping is the clue. If you cannot ping the SmartLinc, then that's not the correct address or it's broken. Can you find it from your router menu? All the SmartLincs I've come across have MAC addresses that begin with 00:0E:F3

Stu's Views is Education and Fun. What do YOU want to VIEW today?
MathLandia High school mathematics learning fun.
Both Stu's Views and MathLandia are free websites that do not sell anything.
Saving energy is not always free. Be a world saver.
Go to Top of Page

icerabbit
Average Member

USA
71 Posts

Posted - 10/02/2012 :  6:46:17 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Don't know if it is related or not, but I read about a bug where the iPhone 5 connects to cellular data network despite showing wifi connection.
Go to Top of Page

icerabbit
Average Member

USA
71 Posts

Posted - 10/02/2012 :  6:49:27 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
See: http://www.macworld.com/article/2010887/update-fixes-verizon-iphone-5-data-glitch-customers-wont-be-charged-for-overages.html
Go to Top of Page

stusviews
Moderator

USA
11466 Posts

Posted - 10/02/2012 :  8:04:05 PM  Show Profile  Visit stusviews's Homepage  Reply with Quote
It may be related to your issue, but not to my query.

Stu's Views is Education and Fun. What do YOU want to VIEW today?
MathLandia High school mathematics learning fun.
Both Stu's Views and MathLandia are free websites that do not sell anything.
Saving energy is not always free. Be a world saver.
Go to Top of Page

icerabbit
Average Member

USA
71 Posts

Posted - 10/03/2012 :  08:04:31 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Sorry, didn't mean to offend / interrupt in the wrong way.

It may be related to the OP's issue. There is a wifi bug on the iPhone 5 ( maybe even in iOS 6 in general ) which is the only change he made, and most people are not aware of the bug. So, it is just an extra point to consider. Obviously, if he can't reach the SmartLinc form any browser, something is wrong along your lines of thinking. And you're right that the first thing to do when you can't reach a certain device, is try it with something else, etc.

Go to Top of Page

Tfitzpatri8
Administrator

USA
8604 Posts

Posted - 10/03/2012 :  08:31:10 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
You are both right, IMHO. The phone bug may have initiated the problem, but the OP may have introduced other conflicts while troubleshooting. I, too, would be anxious to confirm the SmartLinc is online and still using the LAN IP expected by the router before pursuing other lines of inquiry.

Volunteer Moderator & Home Automation Enthusiast
Go to Top of Page

stusviews
Moderator

USA
11466 Posts

Posted - 10/03/2012 :  12:51:01 PM  Show Profile  Visit stusviews's Homepage  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by icerabbit

Sorry, didn't mean to offend / interrupt in the wrong way.


Sorry, I meant the OP's difficulty, not yours

Stu's Views is Education and Fun. What do YOU want to VIEW today?
MathLandia High school mathematics learning fun.
Both Stu's Views and MathLandia are free websites that do not sell anything.
Saving energy is not always free. Be a world saver.
Go to Top of Page

icerabbit
Average Member

USA
71 Posts

Posted - 10/03/2012 :  1:00:13 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
No problem :D

[/quote]
Sorry, I meant the OP's difficulty, not yours
[/quote]
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Smarthome Forum © 2000-2014 SmartLabs, Inc Go To Top Of Page
Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07