Unacceptable Insteon failure rate
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

A57
Starting Member

2 Posts

Posted - 11/11/2012 :  06:49:48 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I have been using both X10 and Insteon for several years and have not been at all happy with the high failure rate on Insteon products. It seems they usually last about 2 or 3 years then begin to self-destruct. Either the electronics go buggy or the switches physically fail. This year I have lost two more SwitchLinc and ToggleLinc units and have just had my second ControLinc go totally buggy and refuse to operate or reset. I even had a ToggleLinc literally fall apart in my hand when I turned it on. These products get used daily but they are not abused in any way (no children in the house). My X10 products on the other hand last for MANY years with very low failure rates. I have several X10 controllers and lighting modules that are at least 10 years old and still work perfectly.
So what is the issue here? Why the pathetic quality control? It's almost like the Insteons have a programmed expiration date built in at the factory. I will NOT continue buying these expensive products until such time as Smarthome offers a longer warranty.

EVIL Teken
Advanced Member

Canada
1243 Posts

Posted - 11/11/2012 :  08:20:36 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by A57