How to override the motion sensor?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

soda97

18 Posts

Posted - 11/16/2012 :  4:54:03 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi,

I just bought the Insteon motion sensor and their LED light.

Is there a way I can override the motion sensor so that when I turn the switch on again and the light stays on temporarily?

I'm new to this. Do I need additional hardware and software to do that?

Thanks in advance,
soda

Tfitzpatri8
Administrator

USA
8604 Posts

Posted - 11/16/2012 :  5:20:32 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
You can change the position of the jumpers to make the sensor transmit only when it is dark, or you can power it with a 9 volt battery eliminator that you can turn on and off when desired, or instead of linking the motion sensor directly to the light module you can use home automation software to control the circumstances when motion triggers an event and when it doesn't, but no, there's no mode on the LED bulb or the motion sensor to temporarily disable either.

Volunteer Moderator & Home Automation Enthusiast
Go to Top of Page

soda97

18 Posts

Posted - 11/16/2012 :  5:58:58 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
o so what is the cheapest way to do so?

Thanks in advance,
soda
Go to Top of Page

stusviews

USA
11462 Posts

Posted - 11/16/2012 :  6:05:24 PM  Show Profile  Visit stusviews's Homepage  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by soda97
I just bought the Insteon motion sensor and their LED light.

Is there a way I can override the motion sensor so that when I turn the switch on again and the light stays on temporarily?

What switch?

Stu's Views is Education and Fun. What do YOU want to VIEW today?
MathLandia High school mathematics learning fun.
Both Stu's Views and MathLandia are free websites that do not sell anything.
Saving energy is not always free. Be a world saver.
Go to Top of Page

soda97

18 Posts