New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

jake7363
Starting Member

2 Posts

Posted - 12/12/2012 :  7:24:35 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi,
I'm new to the security concept and am investigating a Smarthome IP Camera, Item# 75790 - which is an indoor, dome model. My question has to do with an indoor or outdoor unit. I live in a condo development where foot traffic can go unnoticed at certain points. I want to secure both my front door (which also has a sidelight window) as well as the patio (large for a condo).
It would seem obvious that the outdoor would be the answer, but because the camera positions are limited, they can also easily be put out of commission due to the areas' lack of visibility. That leads me to the question as to whether the indoor model (mentioned in paragraph 1) would be functional through glass.
I didn't see any support provided on the item, so here I am.

All comments are appreciated.

Thanks,
Jake

stusviews

USA
11486 Posts

Posted - 12/12/2012 :  8:16:48 PM  Show Profile  Visit stusviews's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I haven't specifically tried the SmartHome camera through glass, but every other camera I tried worked ... until the IR LEDs came on (which the camera sees as white light).

If you're concerned about 'lack of visibility,' then your choices are strategic location, wide angle lens, and/or more than one camera.

Stu's Views is Education and Fun. What do YOU want to VIEW today?
MathLandia High school mathematics learning fun.
Both Stu's Views and MathLandia are free websites that do not sell anything.
Saving energy is not always free. Be a world saver.
Go to Top of Page

jake7363
Starting Member

2 Posts

Posted - 12/13/2012 :  4:13:10 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hmm... I guess I need to do more homework. Thanks!
Go to Top of Page

SDanielT
Starting Member

USA
5 Posts

Posted - 12/24/2012 :  2:45:58 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote