Some specific questions...
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Gokite
Starting Member

6 Posts

Posted - 10/11/2014 :  05:17:33 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi all, i'm new to all this and would appreciate some advice. Building my home, doing most the work myself, very handy. Already framed. All cathedral ceilings so cabling must be in basement going up to rooms, no attic exists, anywhere. For wiring, my plan:

1) i piped 1/2 emt from 2nd floor master closet wall to basement for antenna, we arent cable fans
2) i piped 1/2 emt to all "main" rooms for intercom
3) i piped 3/4 emt to bedrooms, living, family room for rg6 and possible cat6
4) i piped 1/2 emt to a central location on first floor ceiling for cat6 run to wireless router

Already bought cat6/rg6 cable. Mynplan was to run one rg6 down from antenna box to basement. From basement run two rg6 and one cat5 to each tv location (one rg6 for antenna and one for cable if it were hooked up). The cat6 would be for hardline connectivity for the tv.

Floorplan is open. To get from one side of house to another, the runs need to run alongside a steel beam, 40 feet or so.

1) what can i use to hand bunches of cable next to a steel beam?
2) at top of beam (10-11 inches away) there are electrical runs, the bunches of cable here were not going to be in conduit, will rg6 be a problem here? This has to be where i run the cable
3) do i need to run two rg6 to each tv?
4) what is needed to install a few video cameras?

stusviews

USA
15711 Posts

Posted - 10/11/2014 :  1:17:30 PM  Show Profile  Visit stusviews's Homepage  Reply with Quote
1. Industrial strength adhesive back Velcro.
2. Shielded cable is usually not a problem, but if you're concerned, 6"-8" away is OK for parallel runs. Speaker cables should be at least one foot away.
3. A distribution box.
4. IP or CCTV? Wired or wireless? Observation only or recording?