Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 33

msmcknight1
Starting Member

USA
4 Posts

Posted - 01/19/2007 :  12:34:52 AM  Show Profile
Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new at this, but one thing I can say for sure that I would like is more toggle-style switches (ie ToggleLinc).

Can someone explain why there are so many more choices in the SwitchLinc category? Maybe I'm just old fashion, but those fat switches are just ugly to me.

As I try to integrate Insteon into my existing electrical system, I like being able to replace a single plain ole toggle-style light switch with a smart one. I don't want to have to replace the face plate and have a switch that looks completely different than every other switch in my house!

Someone mentioned it before, but I'll cast my vote for it here as well... I would like to see a 1000W ToggleLinc switch.

I would also like to see a Temperature/Humidity probe... not a thermostat to control anything directly, but a device I can put in a remote location to simply read what the environment is like so I can react to it.

Hey Mike, can you give us an update on when/if we will see a 1000W Insteon ToggleLinc switch? What about a temp/humidity probe?

Thanks
Go to Top of Page

deckhardt

33 Posts

Posted - 01/19/2007 :  06:24:32 AM  Show Profile
We Installers NEED an IR-Bridge.

Recommending Insteon is almost impossible without the IR-Bridge.

This is killing me on installs as almost every single install has a home theater, where the customer wants to push a button on the remote and have everything happen, including lighting.

I don't even care what it looks like, in the vast majority of cases it will go into a wiring closet with the rest of the hardware anyway.

I certainly don't want to rely on a PC to pull it all together as that typically causes unpaid maintenance requirements.

sorry for the double post, CES 2007, but this seemed a more appropriate location.

Dave

Edited by - deckhardt on 01/19/2007 06:25:06 AM
Go to Top of Page

sloop