Talk About the Latest in Home Automation/Home Electronics -
Home Automation Forum

Smarthome Forum
Insteon Home Automation
Login or Register
 
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Search | FAQ | Smarthome
 All Forums
 General Discussion
 Computer Interfaces
 New Powerlinc 2413U problems connecting
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

danimal442
Starting Member

USA
8 Posts

Posted - 02/07/2015 :  4:45:41 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello,

I recently purchased a 2413U to try and use Houselinc software. I cannot get the software to recognize this modem. I've tried on 3 computers - each finds the powerlinc OK and sets it to COM3. When Houselinc runs, it scans through and acts like it's looking for a modem but cannot find one. I downloaded the USB drivers as instructed in the powerlinc quick start guide. Any help would be appreciated. Houselinc is version 2.10.25

stusviews
Moderator

USA
15603 Posts

Posted - 02/07/2015 :  4:54:55 PM  Show Profile  Visit stusviews's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Have you tried to manually configure the interface?

Stu's Views is Education and Fun. What do YOU want to VIEW today?
MathLandia High school mathematics learning fun.
Both Stu's Views and MathLandia are free websites that do not sell anything.
Saving energy is not always free. Be a world saver.

Please don't PM with questions that can be asked in a forum
Go to Top of Page

danimal442
Starting Member

USA
8 Posts

Posted - 02/07/2015 :  5:27:40 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Stu - yes, I tried to use the manual configuration option and selected the 2413U as the interface. It immediately comes back and tells me it's not found.
Go to Top of Page

Tfitzpatri8
Administrator

USA
10407 Posts

Posted - 02/07/2015 :  6:20:16 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
There's another thread here somewhere, within the last month or so, that indicated new 2413 PLMs were no longer recognized by HouseLinc because of the way the device definition file is written. If you can find the discussion, I believe they found a temporary work-around by customizing that file.

I recommend against seeing HouseLinc as any sort of long-term solution, as it appears it is no longer being supported. The ISY line of products is a good alternative if you need something above and beyond what a Hub can do.

Volunteer Moderator & Home Automation Enthusiast
Go to Top of Page

stusviews
Moderator

USA
15603 Posts

Posted - 02/07/2015 :  6:32:30 PM  Show Profile  Visit stusviews's Homepage  Reply with Quote
A similar problem exists with the latest 2413S. the solution was to modify the devices.xml file to include the latest firmware revision. See: http://forum.smarthome.com/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=16313

Maybe someone will chime in with the revision for the USB interface.

Stu's Views is Education and Fun. What do YOU want to VIEW today?
MathLandia High school mathematics learning fun.
Both Stu's Views and MathLandia are free websites that do not sell anything.
Saving energy is not always free. Be a world saver.

Please don't PM with questions that can be asked in a forum
Go to Top of Page

danimal442
Starting Member

USA
8 Posts

Posted - 02/07/2015 :  7:54:13 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks guys i will search around more and see if I can find anything else on this. I've been using mControl by Embedded Automation, but the 2.xx version doesn't seem to support keypadlinc's and I don't want to shell out 170 for the update. Thought maybe HouseLinc would be a viable alternative.
Go to Top of Page

stusviews
Moderator

USA
15603 Posts

Posted - 02/07/2015 :  8:06:19 PM  Show Profile  Visit stusviews's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Does mControl show the firmware revision?

Stu's Views is Education and Fun. What do YOU want to VIEW today?
MathLandia High school mathematics learning fun.
Both Stu's Views and MathLandia are free websites that do not sell anything.
Saving energy is not always free. Be a world saver.

Please don't PM with questions that can be asked in a forum
Go to Top of Page

danimal442
Starting Member

USA
8 Posts

Posted - 02/07/2015 :  8:12:12 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
i'll have to go back and check - I'm in a catch 22 -> mControl 2.x doesn't support the keypadlinc as a supported device so I thought I'd switch to HouseLinc. HouseLinc didn't seem to support the 2414U modem I was using, so i bought the 2413U because HouseLinc said it supported that. Now, it looks like mControl doesn't support the 2413U.

Like seriously, I can't make this stuff up!
Go to Top of Page

stusviews
Moderator

USA
15603 Posts

Posted - 02/07/2015 :  9:51:05 PM  Show Profile  Visit stusviews's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Is the KeypadLinc a recent purchase? If so, then forget about HouseLinc. Even if the KPL is recognized, several newer devices are not fully supported by HL and some are not supported at all.

HL has not been updated in more than a year and it appears that no updates are forthcoming.

OTOH, if you can get the firmware version from mControl, you may be able to breathe life into HL for a while.


Stu's Views is Education and Fun. What do YOU want to VIEW today?
MathLandia High school mathematics learning fun.
Both Stu's Views and MathLandia are free websites that do not sell anything.
Saving energy is not always free. Be a world saver.

Please don't PM with questions that can be asked in a forum
Go to Top of Page

danimal442
Starting Member

USA
8 Posts

Posted - 02/08/2015 :  05:05:47 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Ok I will see if I can figure out a way to get the firmware version of the 2413U from mControl even if it doesn't work with it. Too bad there isn't a way to terminal into the PLM directly.

Out of curiosity, what application are you guys using to control your Insteon devices?
Go to Top of Page

BLH
Advanced Member

5603 Posts

Posted - 02/09/2015 :  04:01:47 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
If the 2413U is a hardware >2.0. It most likely has firmware 9E that Houselinc does not recognize. Though the devices.xml file can have the information added to it.

There are a few ways to directly access the 2413U. If you can find a copy of BusyRats PLM test program. Sending the Get Version Command 02 60 will get back the PLMs three digit ID, Catalog Number, Subcatalog Number, and Firmware version.

You can also do it with the Evaluation version of Docklite Scripting and the compiled script, the developers kits used. That they have now released to the public. The script has the Get Version command in it but you would have to change the COMM port to match yous. As it is set to COM12.

I am using an ISY994i for my Insteon Devices so can't comment on applications.

Edited by - BLH on 02/09/2015 04:59:36 AM
Go to Top of Page

danimal442
Starting Member

USA
8 Posts

Posted - 02/09/2015 :  5:55:26 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hardware sticker says v2.0 1444

Smarthome, and by proxy Insteon, isn't making adoption very easy. With the "maturity" of the technology, there doesn't seem to be a large number support options readily available.

Go to Top of Page

stusviews
Moderator

USA
15603 Posts

Posted - 02/09/2015 :  6:03:05 PM  Show Profile  Visit stusviews's Homepage  Reply with Quote
The firmware version is required. That's not written on the label.

BTW, the 2413S and 2413U firmware versions are not consistent.

Stu's Views is Education and Fun. What do YOU want to VIEW today?
MathLandia High school mathematics learning fun.
Both Stu's Views and MathLandia are free websites that do not sell anything.
Saving energy is not always free. Be a world saver.

Please don't PM with questions that can be asked in a forum
Go to Top of Page

danimal442
Starting Member

USA
8 Posts

Posted - 02/09/2015 :  6:31:17 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Yea! More inconsistency! Thanks Stu -
Go to Top of Page

danimal442
Starting Member

USA
8 Posts

Posted - 02/11/2015 :  08:53:00 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Ok update: I received the below email from Customer Service today. They sent me a devices.xml file to replace on my installation that is supposed to add support for the 2413U. I will try this tonight and report back on this thread. Doesn't look like this forum allows me to attach files?




Thank you for contacting Insteon Support.
We will no longer be developing the Houselinc program, however we will continue to support it by updating the device library and drivers. Please follow the instructions below to get your new PLM recognized by Houselinc.
1. Exit out of Houselinc. Go to File#61664;Exit… (If you ‘X’ out of Houselinc, make sure you do not have the “HL” icon in the program tray near the clock. If you do, right click over the HL icon and click “Exit.”
2. Save the file “Devices.xml” on your desktop
3. Copy “Devices.xml”
4. Go to: Start menu—>all programs—>Houselinc—>View Data Folder
5. Paste “devices.xml” into the data folder
6. You will see a pop up window asking if you want to replace the existing file.
7. Click “yes”
8. Restart Houselinc and check to see if you can add the newer devices
Sincerely,
Malcolm Adams
Customer Service Representative
SmartLabs, parent company of Smarthome
Home Automation Superstore
Our #1 Core Value: We deliver a customer experience that earns our customers’ loyalty and confidence
Smarthome Forum Home Automation Forum
Twitter SmarthomeInc & INSTEON
Facebook Like Us!
YouTube Watch Our Videos
Subscribe to the Smarthome Newsletter to receive exclusive deals
Go to Top of Page

BLH
Advanced Member

5603 Posts

Posted - 02/11/2015 :  09:57:26 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Let us know how it works out for you.
Too bad they don't just let the Houselinc Update Check find it and automatically install it.
Go to Top of Page

pdo2641
Starting Member

2 Posts

Posted - 03/21/2016 :  7:34:27 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
The previous post is correct almost. The changed the firmware in the PL2413 but didn't update the Homelinc software. So do the update here:
http://www.insteon.com/support-knowledgebase/2015/5/8/fixing-unrecognized-devices-in-houselinc?rq=houselinc

Best regards,

Paul
Go to Top of Page

Doug Szlompek
Starting Member

USA
1 Posts

Posted - 03/26/2017 :  08:30:01 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thank You Danimal442. Your procedure, Posted - 02/11/2015, solved my problem with new 2413U.

DSZ
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Smarthome Forum © 2000-2017 Smartlabs, Inc Go To Top Of Page
Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07