Insteon/X10 in a 110V wired RV
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

TROGLEGS
Starting Member

USA
2 Posts

Posted - 01/31/2016 :  11:08:02 AM  Show Profile  Send TROGLEGS an AOL message  Click to see TROGLEGS's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
Hi folks -

I've been using X10 since 1977, and I well know the issue surrounding loss of signal across the two phases of common US Home wiring. Now I moved full time into an RV... this Teton Homes Fifth Wheel has both 12vdc and 110vac 50 Amp service. The way I understand that the RV 50 amp service works, is that it is a very close cousin to "stick n brick" home wiring, except that they don't ever tie the two separate 110vac legs together to have a 220vac outlet in an RV. So the same problem I've had for over 30 years still exists with my RV!

I have two legs, and my new Insteon hard-wired controllers appear to be on the OTHER LEG of the 50 amp service, and my legacy X10-Pro inline dimmer modules and older X10 incandescent wall switch cannot be controlled by the wall-mounted insteon controller, or even a plug-in X10 mini or maxi controller. Man I was ticked off!

Here's my question: Even though it is not "220V service" - I do have a breaker panel with easy access. Can I simply install a passive phase coupler in my RV - and would this do the trick just like in a regular home breaker panel?

I am sure hoping the answer is yes, as I think it's silly in a 300sq ft RV to have two x10 plug in mini-controllers (each on the other side of the phases) to control stuff.

BTW - I am not that much of a geek that I need to control stuff in a tiny RV... it's just the idiot engineers who built the RV who decided to stick the switches for things like Dining Table ceiling lights way behind a recliner rocker... very hard to reach. So this is my attempt to simplify everything with a few insteon wall-mounted controllers.

Thanks for any replies.

Tom Rogers
"The Roving Rogers" (Tom & Sue)