Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

bburns
Starting Member

USA
8 Posts

Posted - 03/03/2017 :  11:41:52 AM  Show Profile  Send bburns an AOL message  Reply with Quote
I have been using Insteon in my home for over 10 years now with over 80 devices installed. So I spent around $5000 initially on just the Insteon HW. So I have quite an extensive set of experience with them. I am also an Electrical Engineer and thus know a fair mount about electronics and power. So don't bother with the excuses of poor power or noisy circuits be the culprit. I have done detailed electrical analysis of my system and there is one clear and obvious culprit: degradation of the device over time, which implies insufficient design margins and poor material quality. Granted that all of us in the electronics industry are suffering from reduce quality electrical components due to the cell phone market driving the standards, but this shortcoming can be overcome.

In my opinion the Insteon devices suffer from some pretty big quality issues, as I'm getting a 3-5 year lifespan out of my devices. Initially I attributed this to my devices being first generation devices and I was willing to forgive them for that. But then my replacement devices started to fail too. At initial install time, the devices will operate at 100% communication success. After 2-3 years the communication success will start to fall off to the 90% range (OK but not great, 9 out of 10 times the light will turn on or off). But then they will continue to degrade with time. What percentage can you live with?

At about the 5 year mark, I had replaced about 50% of my switched. Every since then I have been replacing a couple switches a year.