New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

smart3873
Starting Member

USA
1 Posts

Posted - 10/30/2017 :  04:57:48 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm new to smarthome. All I have right now is an original Wink hub and a Schlage deadbolt connecting to it. I also have an Ecobee 3 Lite that is running independently. Long term, I'd like to have:

• Motion and/or timer outdoor lights
  • Water sensors for things like water heater
  • Door sensors

I'm also going to get some Blink cameras probably although they dont have integrations with anything but Alexa right now. On the lighting, how do I achieve something like motion activated lights? I'd want a really wide field so they come on often. Do I need an outdoor motion sensor and to change internal light switches? Or do I get smart bulbs? Will my original Wink hub be okay long term or do I need something different?

oberkc
Advanced Member

USA
3630 Posts

Posted - 10/30/2017 :  09:16:00 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I presfer the motion sensor and switches, but this assumes single color bulbs. I use bothe insteon and zwave devices and both would be fine here. If your wink hub handles zwave, this is the route I would take.
Go to Top of Page

stusviews

USA
15785 Posts

Posted - 10/30/2017 :  1:51:52 PM  Show Profile  Visit stusviews's Homepage  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by smart3873

I'm new to smarthome. All I have right now is an original Wink hub and a Schlage deadbolt connecting to it. I also have an Ecobee 3 Lite that is running independently. Long term, I'd like to have:

• Motion and/or timer outdoor lights
  • Water sensors for things like water heater
  • Door sensors