New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

drewsheez
Starting Member

USA
2 Posts

Posted - 11/27/2017 :  08:44:23 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am new to smart home hubs/software/devices and am beginning my research for our home. My wife and I live in the country with acreage and outbuildings, and there have been break-ins in the area lately with sketchy vehicles driving slowly or pulling into driveways. We have a Swann 8 Camera Surveillance system on the property and recently bought a Guardline Driveway Alarm (https://www.guardlinesecurity.com/products/guardline-500-ft-wireless-driveway-alarm-w-lifetime-warranty), as we cannot see the driveway from most of the house and do not know when people arrive most of the time. Both systems work great and the driveway alarm has been a great addition to the cameras since the motion detection on the cameras fire many alerts for motion that we are not worried about.

Primary objection at this point is to integrate the Driveway alarm with some type of hub or software that could be run via Windows or Ubuntu where emails or text message alerts could then be fired. The Driveway Alarm has a 12v relay on the base, however, I am not familiar with this type of configuration and am looking for recommendations on which way to go. (Instruction Manual with setup options located on page 6 at http://manualzz.com/doc/7013727/user-s-manual---guardline-security) I think my primary issue is there are way too many options. I'd like to put something in place that is relatively easy to install, decently priced, and reliable. In the future, we may want to expand to other types of monitoring, so expandability may be nice as well.

Thank you for any information!

Drew

stusviews

USA
15777 Posts

Posted - 11/27/2017 :  11:14:22 AM  Show Profile  Visit stusviews's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I have Swann cameras. Don't yours have a way to send an email whenever motion is detected?