New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

ThoughtCriminal
Starting Member

USA
4 Posts

Posted - 02/04/2018 :  06:33:55 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
My electrician seemed confused about installing the Insteon 2477D dimmers in a dual-pole (two switches) setup.

I have provided him with the dual-pole diagrams but said the dimming function would not work (with a 2477D at both locations).

Is the 2477D appropriate for dual-pole setups? (I'm a complete novice with these things, so apologies if my terminology is off...).

oberkc
Advanced Member

USA
3649 Posts

Posted - 02/04/2018 :  08:30:54 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
"dual-pole"? or "two switches"? I understand these to be two different things. I am getting confused with the terminology, I fear.

Do you have a box with two switches in it? Do you currently have a fixture that is controlled by two switches at different box locations?
Go to Top of Page

BLH
Advanced Member

5669 Posts

Posted - 02/04/2018 :  08:32:48 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Yes it will work fine.
By cross linking each together. The switch with the load not connected. Will still control the On, Off, Dim and Brighten features on the 2477D with the load on it.

I suspect some electricians may not understand the wiring. As a normal three way setup uses travelers between the two switches. Not both wired to Line and Neutral for power and one also connected to the load.

Go to Top of Page

jackman
Average Member

166 Posts

Posted - 02/04/2018 :  10:38:08 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I had the same thought oberkc. Two pole is quite a bit different than 2 switches in a three way. We need some clarification.
Go to Top of Page

lilyoyo1

209 Posts

Posted - 02/04/2018 :  11:54:54 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I think he's meaning 3way. If so, BLH is correct. You can find the wiring diagram on the 2477s webpage in the full manual which details how to set it up for multi-way applications