Talk About the Latest in Home Automation/Home Electronics -
Home Automation Forum

Smarthome Forum
Insteon Home Automation
Login or Register
 
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Search | FAQ | Smarthome
 All Forums
 General Discussion
 Insteon
 Insteon to Somfy Bridge BETA Available (3rd party)
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 8

mastermog
Starting Member

USA
6 Posts

Posted - 04/11/2014 :  04:28:23 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Paceyben,

Please send me some more information on your bridge.

Thanks
Go to Top of Page

mastermog
Starting Member

USA
6 Posts

Posted - 04/18/2014 :  8:00:11 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Paceyben,

I just wanted you to know I received and installed the bridge and it works great. A lot better than all of the other solutions I tried including the zWave Somfy RTS interface. If you use insteon and RTS controlled shades or blinds this is definitely the way to go.

Thanks
MasterMog
Go to Top of Page

nasmith1985
Starting Member

USA
3 Posts

Posted - 05/02/2014 :  6:32:50 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'd love to have more information on this solution. I've been searching for a reliable way to accomplish this for some time.
Go to Top of Page

3mm
Starting Member

1 Posts

Posted - 05/03/2014 :  07:51:13 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
paceyban, please email me about your solution too.
Go to Top of Page

AUTO_HOME
Starting Member

1 Posts

Posted - 05/12/2014 :  5:04:03 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Will the bridge work with somify driven awnings? It is made by Sunsetter http://www.sunsetter.com/oasis_awning.asp

Please send me email about your solution
Go to Top of Page

stusviews
Moderator

USA
15854 Posts

Posted - 05/12/2014 :  7:11:37 PM  Show Profile  Visit stusviews's Homepage  Reply with Quote
If the awning you've selected includes a Somfy RTS motor with remote control, such as the Telis, then paceyben's bridge will work

Stu's Views is Education and Fun. What do YOU want to VIEW today?
MathLandia High school mathematics learning fun.
Both Stu's Views and MathLandia are free websites that do not sell anything.
Saving energy is not always free. Be a world saver.


Please don't PM with questions that can be asked in a forum.
Go to Top of Page

afreeman
Starting Member

1 Posts

Posted - 05/16/2014 :  8:52:36 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Paceyben,

Please send me information on your bridge. I have two somfy rts controlled blinds now, and plan to add 20-30 more.

Thanks,
Alan

Alan
Go to Top of Page

nicholass817
New Member

19 Posts

Posted - 05/21/2014 :  7:31:31 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello paceyben,

Will you please forward information about your bridge to me?
Go to Top of Page

Ali
Starting Member

1 Posts

Posted - 05/25/2014 :  2:26:32 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Paceyben,
Can you get in touch with me about your bridge? Doesn't look like I can email you directly.
Go to Top of Page

jam583
Junior Member

USA
54 Posts

Posted - 05/30/2014 :  6:27:20 PM  Show Profile  Visit jam583's Homepage  Send jam583 an AOL message  Reply with Quote
I am interested in this. How can I learn more?

Jason Miller
Go to Top of Page

rnhead
Starting Member

USA
2 Posts

Posted - 06/03/2014 :  2:39:13 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Please send bridge info. I want to control 3 Somfy devices, an awning, a sun screen and curtains.
Go to Top of Page

paceyben
Advanced Member

413 Posts

Posted - 06/03/2014 :  3:40:36 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
You have to enable email in your forum profile. Thanks.
Go to Top of Page

rnhead
Starting Member

USA
2 Posts

Posted - 06/03/2014 :  3:50:35 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
OK, done. Sorry about the profile problem.
Go to Top of Page

nasmith1985
Starting Member

USA
3 Posts

Posted - 06/03/2014 :  4:04:07 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Mine says it's enabled.
Go to Top of Page

paceyben
Advanced Member

413 Posts

Posted - 06/03/2014 :  4:25:01 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
If you have not received a message please check your spam folder.
Go to Top of Page

nasmith1985
Starting Member

USA
3 Posts

Posted - 06/03/2014 :  4:28:10 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
That's odd, nothing in there.

nicholas.a.smith at me dot com
Go to Top of Page

marcin
Starting Member

USA
4 Posts

Posted - 06/25/2014 :  1:15:49 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm interested. Can I get more details?

Marcin
Go to Top of Page

eastburg
Starting Member

USA
1 Posts

Posted - 07/16/2014 :  10:06:52 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hey Paceyben,

Could you send me information about your insteon/somfy bridge? Thanks!
Go to Top of Page

wdean
New Member

USA
22 Posts

Posted - 07/22/2014 :  2:19:41 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Paceyben, I too would like information on the Somfy bridge. I have 6 windows across the front of my house with plantation shutters. I want to retrofit for Somfy. Also, each window has two shutters. Does that equal 12 shutters or 6 when referring to the capacity of the bridge. I've seen some examples of the retrofit I am considering with other hardware, but could use their concept if I can understand which Somfy motor to use. The basics of the retrofit is to cut the rod in the bottom slat and attach a motor to the side of the shutter. Has anyone seen this with Somfy? Here's the link to the idea. http://www.mysmarthomeblog.com/page--23.html I would love feedback.
Go to Top of Page

stusviews
Moderator

USA
15854 Posts

Posted - 07/22/2014 :  5:24:02 PM  Show Profile  Visit stusviews's Homepage  Reply with Quote
No matter how you motorize the shutters, the capacity of the Somfy interface that connects to the bridge is 16 motors.

Stu's Views is Education and Fun. What do YOU want to VIEW today?
MathLandia High school mathematics learning fun.
Both Stu's Views and MathLandia are free websites that do not sell anything.
Saving energy is not always free. Be a world saver.


Please don't PM with questions that can be asked in a forum.
Go to Top of Page

wdean
New Member

USA
22 Posts

Posted - 07/22/2014 :  6:05:16 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks! That's good and with 12 motors, I have 4 open for expansion.
Go to Top of Page

paceyben
Advanced Member

413 Posts

Posted - 07/22/2014 :  10:43:33 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by stusviews

No matter how you motorize the shutters, the capacity of the Somfy interface that connects to the bridge is 16 motors.



Well it is 16 channels but each channel can have more than one motor as a member. So if you want the 2 shutters on each window to always be synchronized then you would only need 6 channels.
Go to Top of Page

wdean
New Member

USA
22 Posts

Posted - 07/23/2014 :  05:26:48 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Even better! Thanks!
Go to Top of Page

Sinister-CO
Starting Member

USA
1 Posts

Posted - 08/18/2014 :  07:09:29 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Wow, this sounds great! I tried to email you but I'm brand new so it wouldn't let me. Can you send me the info as well?

Thanks!!
Go to Top of Page

guedesluz
Average Member

Brazil
104 Posts

Posted - 08/21/2014 :  10:31:04 AM  Show Profile  Click to see guedesluz's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
I'm with a recent problem and maybe you could help me. I received an installation with 4 somfy curtains with just 2 wires connected to them. I imagine that the equipment has a built-in RF receiver and that's how it's controlled.

Your brigde could make me control this curtins using Insteon?

Att..
Thiago Guedes da Luz
Go to Top of Page

stusviews
Moderator

USA
15854 Posts

Posted - 08/21/2014 :  11:37:45 AM  Show Profile  Visit stusviews's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Which Somfy controller(s) do you have? For example, the Somfy Telis is RF. So is the Decoflex.

Stu's Views is Education and Fun. What do YOU want to VIEW today?
MathLandia High school mathematics learning fun.
Both Stu's Views and MathLandia are free websites that do not sell anything.
Saving energy is not always free. Be a world saver.


Please don't PM with questions that can be asked in a forum.
Go to Top of Page

guedesluz
Average Member

Brazil
104 Posts

Posted - 08/22/2014 :  03:55:13 AM  Show Profile  Click to see guedesluz's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
I really couldn't answer that now because I got there and the curtians are already installed. I'm waiting the technical support to go there but I suppose they are RF because there're just two wires going into each motor.

Att..
Thiago Guedes da Luz
Go to Top of Page

stusviews
Moderator

USA
15854 Posts

Posted - 08/22/2014 :  10:34:55 AM  Show Profile  Visit stusviews's Homepage  Reply with Quote
It could be RTS or it could be Z-Wave. It's always best to be sure

Stu's Views is Education and Fun. What do YOU want to VIEW today?
MathLandia High school mathematics learning fun.
Both Stu's Views and MathLandia are free websites that do not sell anything.
Saving energy is not always free. Be a world saver.


Please don't PM with questions that can be asked in a forum.
Go to Top of Page

guedesluz
Average Member

Brazil
104 Posts

Posted - 08/22/2014 :  12:03:20 PM  Show Profile  Click to see guedesluz's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
Sorry about the next dumb question. I've never used this curtians before.

If it was controlled with a remote like this in the link, it is RTS right? How can I identify if it is Z-Wave?

http://www.smarthome.com/somfy-systems-1810633-rts-5-channel-remote.html


Att..
Thiago Guedes da Luz
Go to Top of Page

stusviews
Moderator

USA
15854 Posts

Posted - 08/22/2014 :  12:59:36 PM  Show Profile  Visit stusviews's Homepage  Reply with Quote
The linked to remote is a single channel RTS Telis remote. The Insteon to Somfy RTS bridge will work.

RTS = Radio Technology Somfy.

Stu's Views is Education and Fun. What do YOU want to VIEW today?
MathLandia High school mathematics learning fun.
Both Stu's Views and MathLandia are free websites that do not sell anything.
Saving energy is not always free. Be a world saver.


Please don't PM with questions that can be asked in a forum.
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 8 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Previous Page | Next Page
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Smarthome Forum © 2000-2017 Smartlabs, Inc Go To Top Of Page
Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07