Talk About the Latest in Home Automation/Home Electronics -
Home Automation Forum

Smarthome Forum
Insteon Home Automation
Login or Register

Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Search | FAQ | Smarthome | Security and Privacy
 All Forums
 General Discussion
 Lighting and Appliance Control
 Smart Light Bulbs
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

facecard
Starting Member

8 Posts

Posted - 11/15/2018 :  08:45:11 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am a newbie. I was looking into buying a Smart Bulb one with Wifi capabilities. I know there are some brands out there like Hue, TP-Link, etc.. that offer some Wifi capability.

I don't care about the colored type of bulb. I just want a white color type is fine. I want to be able to turn on the light before I come home when it is dark outside.

1. Which brand is reliable and worth the money?
2. Is Sengled Element a good brand?
3. Warranty? How long does Smart Light Bulbs last?
4. Can I use any light fixture?

oberkc

USA
3783 Posts

Posted - 11/15/2018 :  10:49:01 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I dont think hue bulbs communicate via wifi. Rather, I think they communicate directly to their hub, which can communicate with your home network. I have a few of the hue devices. They work well and I have not had any trouble with them.

Like most smart bulbs, Hue devices need to be constantly powered. This means that if you put them into a fixture that has a switch, and someone turns off the switch, the smart bulb becomes not so smart.
Go to Top of Page

facecard
Starting Member

8 Posts

Posted - 11/15/2018 :  11:28:49 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I know that some bulbs like Hue need a hub to act as the middle man but I don't know if I want that type or not. I was thinking of Smart bulbs that directly connect to the Wifi. I don't know which is more reliable using a bulb that directly connects to the router or a bulb that needs a Hub.
Go to Top of Page

oberkc

USA