Talk About the Latest in Home Automation/Home Electronics -
Home Automation Forum

Smarthome Forum
Insteon Home Automation
Login or Register

Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Search | FAQ | Smarthome | Security and Privacy
 All Forums
 General Discussion
 Insteon
 Help a Newbie Confirm Install
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Nigan
Starting Member

3 Posts

Posted - 09/23/2019 :  1:03:47 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello everyone,,
I am new to Home Automation and hoping someone can view the below and help me out here.

I am moving into a new house in Oregon (Built in 1981) at the end of month and am wanting to put a Home Automation Kit in. Once I have moved in and confirmed the house has netural wires etc (I hope it does) I plan on deploying the following:

- Controller ISY994iZw/IR PRO (with Z-Wave)
- Insteon Serial PLM (POWERLINC MODEM - INSTEON 2413S SERIAL INTERFACE (DUAL-BAND)
- Various Insteon Dimmers / Switches
- Z-Wave Door Locks
- Plus other Insteon / Z-Wave Devices

I think this looks OK.

One question I have is that the house is quite large and has 2 x 200 AMP Power Supplies running to it and different areas of the house are on different feeds / switch boards. Would I need to get an additional Insteon Serial PLM to add to the other feed for the Insteon Devices on that one (so I have one on both feeds/phases), and if so it is possible to bridge the two?

Thanks for your time!

Edited by - Nigan on 09/26/2019 11:38:25 AM

Tfitzpatri8
Administrator

USA
10782 Posts

Posted - 09/23/2019 :  1:23:23 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Negative, the ISY requires (and supports) only one PLM. Each dual-band device you add to your house will automatically form a mesh network with every other dual-band Insteon device within range.
Go to Top of Page

johnsmith101
Starting Member

India
1 Posts

Posted - 10/15/2019 :  08:28:21 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Nigan