Talk About the Latest in Home Automation/Home Electronics -
Home Automation Forum

Smarthome Forum
Insteon Home Automation
Login or Register

Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Search | FAQ | Smarthome | Security and Privacy | Do Not Sell My Info
 All Forums
 General Discussion
 Lighting and Appliance Control
 Smarthome technology for a Vintage condo complex
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Demetri
Starting Member

USA
5 Posts

Posted - 01/04/2020 :  11:08:41 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm new to the smarthome technology and I'm just starting out. I live in a vintage condo building built in 1903. Are there any smarthome technology I could install? I use plug in lamps. There are three ceiling light fixtures. Where should I begin to look or start?

<i>Demetrius</i>

oberkc

USA
4094 Posts

Posted - 01/04/2020 :  1:37:16 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am sure that there is. Have you ever looked at the wiring? Does it appear to have been updated recently, or does it appear to be original? Do you have your own wifi system?

Much depends upon what you are trying to achieve. "Smarthome technology" is a pretty broad and loose term. Lighting? Voice control? Automation? Remote control via phone? Locks? Blinds?

I use some Hue lighting and I see no reason why this could not be used in a "vintage" building. There are other similar kinds of things. Apple HomeKit devices would be a nice start if you are not trying to do anything too fancy.
Go to Top of Page

Demetri
Starting Member

USA
5 Posts

Posted - 01/04/2020 :  7:11:56 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm only looking to work on the lighting, nothing else. There is electrical wiring, and the fixtures are modern, but the gas lines are still there. The goal is to have the lighting fixtures and lamps on remote control. Nothing elaborate, complex and expensive.

<i>Demetrius</i>
Go to Top of Page

BLH
Advanced Member

6156 Posts