Talk About the Latest in Home Automation/Home Electronics -
Home Automation Forum

Smarthome Forum
Insteon Home Automation
Login or Register

Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Search | FAQ | Smarthome | Security and Privacy | Do Not Sell My Info
 All Forums
 General Discussion
 Lighting and Appliance Control
 Controlling existing and new lighting with 2switch
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

RosPlays
Starting Member

Canada
2 Posts

Posted - 03/31/2021 :  8:54:46 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello,

This is my first time doing anything smart in my home and I'd like to start small to see where this all goes and I need a little guidance.

I have an existing non-smart light hooked up to an existing non-smart light switch. I would like to add LED strip lights to the room and somehow incorporate both lights into one switch and then also have another switch or remote control that I could put on the other side of the room that would control the LED strip lights. This "other side of the room" does not have an existing light switch to replace. I'm looking for product recommendations and really an explanation of how smart switches work. If I turn on a smart switch, I assume it will turn on the non-smart light, but any ideas on how I would be able to switch on the LED Strip light?

TLDR: I want 1 Light, 1 LED strip light, 2 switches on either side of the room but only one side can be wired into the wall. How can I control both lights seperately with each switch?

oberkc

USA
4154 Posts

Posted - 04/01/2021 :  4:20:59 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
First, I expect all lights will require access to power. Were you planning to connect your strip lights to the same power as your existing fixture?

What method did you envision to be able to separately control two lights with a single switch? A single tap versus double tap? Quick tap versus tap-and-hold? I am not sure that I understand what you want here.